How did I solve the “TypeError: Cannot read property ‘prototype’ of undefined” (NodeJS-ExpressJS-Redis)?

After installing Redis in our server as outlined in my last post on installation of Redis in CentOS 6.5, it was time for me to setup ExpressJS-NodeJS-Redis(Session Store) setup for the webapp that I am working on.

Everthing seemed perfect until I attempted to start the node server using the command: node app.js. I was welcomed with the below error message which highlighted the fact that connect-redis npm module had falied to connect to my Redis server.

var redis_store = require('connect-redis')(express);
TypeError: Cannot read property 'prototype' of undefined
    at module.exports (/home/nodeuser/node_modules/connect-redis/lib/connect-redis.js:96:41)
    at repl:1:43
    at REPLServer.self.eval (repl.js:110:21)
    at repl.js:249:20
    at REPLServer.self.eval (repl.js:122:7)
    at Interface.<anonymous> (repl.js:239:12)
    at Interface.EventEmitter.emit (events.js:95:17)
    at Interface._onLine (readline.js:202:10)
    at Interface._line (readline.js:531:8)
    at Interface._ttyWrite (readline.js:760:14)

Upon scouting Internet for answers, the solution posted by Andrei Karpushonak at StackOverflow post titled, ‘RedisStore – TypeError: Cannot read property ‘prototype’ of undefined‘ solved the issue.

Since I have used expressjs version 3.4.8 in my application, I had to use a compatible connect-redis npm. As per the StackOverflow post, the version mentioned by Andrei Karpushonak is 1.4.7.

I installed connect-redis-1.4.7 using the command: npm install --save connect-redis@1.4.7 and the webapp started without reporting any failures.

Leave a Reply

